I always struggle with the first project of the year. It seems like there are so many things that have made it on my ‘to do list’ that I’m never sure what I’d like to accomplish first… and I feel as if the first project sets the tone for the entire year. So, after much deliberation, I settled on Style ARC’s Heidi Hooded Cardi. My original intent was to sew this one up in a glittery sweater knit, but just wasn’t feeling it yesterday and searched the stash for something different. That’s when I found a snowy printed sweater knit that I purchased over 2 years ago at Hancock Fabrics (I had originally inteded this to become an Ottobre coat\jacket, but never found a lining that I cared for). My only fear is that this particular fabric is much heavier than the pattern intended – so I’m hoping that I don’t look too bulky when wearing it.

Now that I’ve decided on a project, it’s time to cut the pattern, wash the fabric, and do the worst part…. cutting the material and pattern matching! Here’s the details of 2014 Cardi Project:

Pattern: Style ARC Heidi Hooded Cardi
01-hoodedcardi

Fabric: “Snow” sweater knit from Hancock Fabrics
01-sweater

Total Cost:
Pattern….$12.94
Fabric….$26.98
Notions….stash

Total….$39.92

