09-bag1 Remember my totally awesome, Bigger on the Inside backpack that I made just in time for school to start this year? My son’s teacher liked it so much that I decided to give her one as a Christmas present this year (and filled with some lotion as well)! At the time, she said she wanted something similar to take on field trips – a bag that was easy to wear, fill up, and get to all the necessities kindergartners might need…. I think she’ll get a lot of use out of it (something tells me that future teachers will see this and want one too).

12-cookies

I also spent some time in the kitchen making ‘in the jar’ gifts. I have had almost a dozen jars stashed away for two years that I haven’t done much with so I thought this would be a great way to use them. One thing I learned? These gifts, as cute as they are, are a lot of work (and spring for the wide mouth jars if you can too). I settled on a Cowboy Cookie recipe and omitted the nuts – partly because I’m paranoid of nut allergies, but also because I just couldn’t cram anything else into the jar! After all the ingredients were piled in, I topped it off with a cow print fabric, gingham ribbon, a DIY printed label (I love these things!), and instructions on how to put it all together tied up with twine. I’m really happy with how they turned out, but now my kitchen is in dire need of a clean up – apparently I’m a messy crafter!

