12-leggingAs soon as I saw the Fair Isle print fabric at Girl Charlee, I knew I had to buy it so that they could become a cute pair of comfy leggings. Once it arrived, I debated which pattern to use: Kwik Sew 3636 (I had used this pattern years ago as part of a Halloween costume for Taylor) or McCall 6173. I went with the McCall pattern only because I could find my KwikSew in my stash… and I’m sort of wishing that I would have went with the other.

I know what you’re saying – it’s a legging pattern, how bad could it be? It’s honestly not that horrible. Our measurements (both Taylor and I wear the same size and she had claimed these too) put us into the “Medium” pattern range – while the fit is fine along the hip\waist area, the legs were baggy, especially around the lower thigh and knee area and a smidge in the calves (who needs baggy leggings, they’ll probably sag after a good wearing on their own without them starting out this way). I wound up shaving them down a few times to get the look I was after and then made the calves a bit snug in the end (some of that is due to the fabric as well since the material doesn’t have as much stretch and recovery as what I would like). All in all, the end look is cute, the pattern is so-so, and the fit is alright. Next time I attempt this I’ll go for the Kwik Sew and see what I wind up with. In the mean time, I’m going to work on making a top to go with my new leggings!

Pattern: McCall 6173
12-6173

Fabric: Fair Isle cotton print from Girl Charlee
12-fairisle

Total Cost:
Pattern….$0.99
Fabric….$13.00
Notions….$2.00

Total….$15.99

