11-bench One of the things I love about my house is it’s spacious, covered front porch. Unfortunately, we we first moved in it wasn’t just winter, but I was very pregnant with our youngest so my motivation to tackle outdoor decorating was low. While I love decorating the inside of the house, landscaping, etc. I realized that I have long neglected my lovely front porch… that is until a few days ago. The transformation is fairly minor, but it’s a start:

11-porch While a lot of the decor is purchased (wreath on the door, table, ‘birdcage candle holder’), I did get to do a bit of sewing by creating a seat cushion that ties down to the bench to prevent shifting and two coordinating pillows that make the whole porch look cozier. I have to admit, I just ‘winged’ the bench seat. Initially I had planned on using a thicker foam so that I could do a contrast band around the edges, but I discovered that the thicker variety isn’t just tough to find, but it’s darn expensive too! Instead, I compromised and bought 1″ diameter foam and did a simple ‘wrap’ with the fabric (much like how you would gift wrap a present, but sewing everything down instead of using tape!) so that the seam is on the underside of the seating. The pillows are 18″ squares and are stuffed with fiberfill instead of pillow inserts.

Overall I’m pleased with the transformation, but there’s still a lot of room for improvement – although I can’t foresee me sewing anything else for it right now. Anyone else sew for their front porch?

