Image1 If you’ve been to a brick-and-mortar fabric store recently, you’ve probably noticed that there is a lot of ruffle knit fabric out there. Besides your basic tops, skirts and dresses what can you do with this material? How about a super easy-to-sew scarf?

I had purchased this material several years ago at Needle Nook after I realized it was the same material used in a skirt at a retail store. When I brought it home, Taylor decided that the ruffled look wasn’t really for her, so it sat… for ages. I recently whipped it out of my stash and decided that if I didn’t use this fabric, I was either going to have to donate it – so I decided to find another use for it other than clothing. After draping it around my dress form, I discovered that it makes a pretty good scarf. Plus, it look like you put a lot more effort into it because of the ruffles! I made a wide, 10″ finished scarf: for this look I cut the entire length of the fabric (it was 1 3/4 yards long) 21″ long. I sewed a 1/2″ seam and turned it right side out. Easy!

