10-laurie1I’m going to start off this post by saying I had high hopes for my Laurie tee – I even went as far as buying A4 paper to make sure that I accurately printed the pattern pieces and managed to find the ‘perfect’ material (IMHO) to sew it up. Unfortunately, it didn’t live up to my expectations.

My biggest issue is the fit: While I knew to expect a looser style top, I had no idea it would be so HUGE…. even the shoulder area is too big and that’s saying a lot because I have fairly broad shoulders. Just see for yourself the amount of ease that this top has:

10-laurie2

I will say that if you stand just right so that the material falls close to your body and don’t move, the tee looks fine. However, the moment you start moving around (and Heaven forbid, raise your arm), the shirt explodes in size and you suddenly look like a Victoria Secret striped gift box. I will admit, the photo on the left was not finished when I took the photo – I was so disappointed in how it looked that I contemplated not hemming it at all. However, after mulling it over for awhile, I decided I would attempt to taper in the sides some (I took in the seam an additional 1″ on each side, shaving off 4″ around the entire midsection) which didn’t seem to make a lick of difference in the end – it’s still enormous everywhere and doesn’t tackle the gigantic upper body\shoulder area, but I finished it anyway. I may attempt to wear this one time, but I can’t see myself falling in love with it.

