09-dressform Want to know a great way to kick off the weekend? Have your new dress form arrive on your doorstep! I call my ‘new sewing assistant’, Sheila (I like to say it in an Australian accent) and she is a ‘half body’ form (with a removable arm) from Roxy.

As much as I have used my Dritz model, she is not just working for me anymore – she’s looking a bit rough (there’s some wear and tear around the shoulder(s) and she’s not very pinnable. You see, quite some time ago, I bought Crafty’s Fashion Draping class. Even though he suggested that you could still make a garment with the Dritz style (the kind that has a ‘seam’ in the middle where the adjustment wheel is housed), I realized there was no way I could even push a pin through it to make the muslin work for me. So after quite a bit of research, I settled on the Roxy brand – it’s very close to the PGM brand (like the ones on Project Runway), but not quite the expense.

While I haven’t had the opportunity to really play with Sheila yet, I can say she’s so much squishier (padded) than my last form and her body is very close to mine in size (alright, she needs a bit more fluff in the tummy area – I’m sure my wickedly sinful brownie last night didn’t help). The setup is very easy…. once you watch the video. I love the fact that she’s on wheels (although she’d be much easier to move if she wasn’t housed on carpet), is ridiculously easy to adjust height, and is stable (one thing about my former model is that she’s really lightweight and would tip if you were trying to dress\fit her too much). With all the good points of this dress form, I have to admit, the arm is a bit disappointing – it’s just a ‘sling’ that you tie around the neck and let hang. I’m not really sure how much I’m going to use it, but it was ‘free’ (I chose the arm over the tools because I had several of the supplies already on hand) so I’m not going to complain that much.

On a completely different note, don’t forget that today is the last day to enter the Bigger on the Inside Drawstring Backpack giveaway!

