09-bag1 Today’s the day, folks – it’s my turn at Dog Under My Desk’s Blog Hop! If you’re visiting for the first time today, Welcome! and for those who have been here before, Thanks for coming back!

When Erin announced that she was hosting a blog hop in honor of National Sewing Month, I jumped at the chance – not only is she a great online friend, but her patterns are fantastic too! I selected the Bigger on the Inside Drawstring Backpack… and as you can see, it really is (if you click on the photo below, it will enlarge so you can see how much you can fit inside):

09-bagbig What sets this bag apart from other drawstring patterns is the oval bottom – it allows you to put bulky items inside (sweatshirts\hoodies, shoes, or in my son’s case, miscellaneous toys) without overfilling it. Plus it has a nice size interior pocket that’s perfect for stashing items that you need to find quickly (I added slots for pens\pencils so they’re always handy).

09-bag3 The exterior of the bag has a large, zippered pocket – so it’s ideal for storing your phone, keys, etc. (or in my son’s case, those things he finds outside on his way to school) AND has the option of self-fabric or cording for the straps (I made them out of the same material as the exterior fabric) that can be adjusted for the wearer when you’re stitching up the bag (for example, my son needs much smaller straps so that the bag doesn’t fall off of his shoulders or fall past his knees when he wears it). As you can see, my son loves his new bag and even has a new shirt that matches the material I used. But the best part of all is that I was able to stitch this pattern up over a weekend – instant gratification!

Want to win a Bigger on the Inside Drawstring Backpack for yourself? Just leave a comment in this thread by Midnight (CST), September 27, 2013, Good Luck! For more chances to win, don’t forget to visit the other blogs participating and enter Erin’s big giveaway as well!

