07-kimono I know it’s been around for awhile, but I am finally getting to Maria’s Kirsten Kimono Tee. My goal was to test out this pattern to see how well I liked it, then potentially use it with a bird fabric I had picked up at the end of spring (in fact, I have an entire outfit planned around that material – does anyone else do that?).

For this project, I went with a super-soft, slubbed jersey that I found in the clearance section of Joann’s – and who says you can’t find knit gems at that store? Overall, the instructions were easy to follow and is put together much like any other basic t-shirt pattern. My only complaint(s) is that you have to do some calculating on the length of the neck binding (which means that you shouldn’t do this late at night when your brain is foggy!) and that you must remember to add seam\hem allowances while cutting (I made notes to myself on the printed pattern so I wouldn’t forget). The fit is fine, but I have to admit, I’m just underwhelmed with the style – it looks a lot like what I’ve been making with other patterns. The Kirsten Kimono does have a slightly wider neckline than most of my tees, that’s about the only difference I’m seeing.

The bottom line: If you don’t have a favorite t-shirt pattern, I would highly suggest this one. Otherwise, stick with what you’ve got unless you’re just looking for a new neckline.

