07-birds In May, I made a rather large Girl Charlee purchase – lots of chevrons, stripes, and prints arrived at my doorstep… I was\am determined to sew them all up before they turn into stash! Apparently, I am really into bird prints lately because most fabrics with this print make their way home with me and this one was no exception. I had originally visualized making this into a tank, but after staring at the fabric for awhile, I determined that I wasn’t going to like the end product. After rifling through my patterns I decided that it was destined for one of Jalie’s Scoop Neck tops. This was the second time making this particular pattern and the first for the tulip sleeves – I think that this fabric was made for this design!

Overall, this pattern went together perfectly. My only hitch was the way I overlapped the sleeves for the tulip shape – I hadn’t discovered that they were going opposite directions until after I had taken photographs (I’ve since fixed it)! I have to admit, I really liked making this top and I love the sleeve detail – I’m thinking I’ll eventually make one this fall in a solid color… now what color?

