I hate having projects sitting, waiting in a pile for me to work on – they just seem to stare at me while I’m working on other items making me feel guilty for not touching them. That’s why I’ve decided not to let a WIP (work-in-progress) sit on my table this year. Consequently, I recently decided to come back to KwikSew 3988 (view A, the capri yoga pants). I had decided that for this version I would use a dry-weave poly blend for the base of the pants and use a matching\contrasting ITY-ish print for the waistband. Here’s how they turned out:

Yoga, Anyone?

Overall, these were very easy to sew and I love the details (there is a nice ‘vent’ on the bottom of the pants, stitching along the seams which would look great in a contrasting thread, and a separate piece for the waistband so you can make it contrasting or matching). Unfortunately, I hate the fabric. I had tons of skipped stitches with the dry weave material – no matter what needle, machine setting, etc. I used, it still skipped. Consequently, it took me twice as long to sew this one and with a lot of headaches.

As for the fit, it is a bit ‘off’. I had originally made these to fit me, but they actually look better on my daughter. I found that the legs were a bit too baggy (especially in the calf area) and droopier in the backside. Even though this style fits better on her, I think that it’s still too large on her as well (it looks great in the back, but, as you can see, there’s a lot of wrinkles from too much material in the front) – I’m not sure if it’s the fault of the pattern or that the material was too over-worked (because of the skipped stitches). Either way, I can see making this pattern again, although I think I’ll try a friendlier cotton\lycra blend instead.

